Design Information System

information at right time

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Design Standards Design Standards Product Safety Marking

Product Safety Marking

E-mail Print PDF

Product Safety marking are very important in design to show what level of safety is associated which product based on location and product requirements,

The below list shows some of the international saftey marking


ce  CE Mark
(European Union Countries)

The CE mark is a mandatory European marking for certain product groups to indicate conformity with the essential health and safety requirements set out in European Directives. The letters 'CE' are an abbreviation of Conformité Européenne, French for European conformity.

The CE mark is not a quality-mark. First, it refers to the safety rather than to the quality of a product. Second, most quality markings are voluntary opposite to the CE marking, which is mandatory for the products it applies to.


The CCC-Certificate is the Chinese compulsory certificate for different groups of products, in particular electronic products and machines.

The CCC Mark (China Compulsory Certification mark) is required for a wide range of products sold in the Peoples Republic of China. The product list includes 19 product groups and a total of 132 product categories. Safety and EMC testing are mandatory.

The Certification and Accreditation Administration (CNCA) is responsible for managing the product approval, for issuing the CCC Mark, and for accrediting certification bodies.

nomNOM   Mark (Mexico)

NOM - Normas Oficiales Mexicanas
Products entering Mexico must be tested to national, mandatory NOM standards by an accredited Mexican laboratory.

All electrical products exported into Mexico must meet NOM requirements.

E.g. household refrigerators, freezers, gas heaters, cloth washers, air conditioners; small induction motors and motor operated tools, telecom products that are data transmitters (digital, analogical, LAN or WAN systems) and those intended to be connected to the Public Telecom Network (PTN) and designed to process, receive, transmit or convert signals.

s-Argentina'S' Mark

Argentina's safety mark

Argentina has a mandatory compliance law: Resolution 92/98. In effect since August 18, 1998, it applies to electrical and electronic products marketed in Argentina.

 tuv   Germany

Any electrical, mechanical or electro-mechanical product bearing the GS Mark indicates that it was tested and complies with the minimum requirements of the German Equipment and Product Safety Act (a.k.a. GPSG). The GS Mark (Geprüfte Sicherheit, meaning Safety Tested) is a licensed mark of the German government and may only be issued by an accredited product safety testing and certification agency.

AUSAustralia Safety Approval

Australia and New Zealand 51 classes of electrical product have been identified by electrical regulators as representing a significant safety risk to the user. In South Australia, these products come within the scope of the Electrical Products Act 2000 and are therefore required to be approved for electrical safety before being offered for sale to the general public.

CSA Canadian Safety

The CSA mark may appear alone or with indicators. If it appears alone, it means that the product is certified for the Canadian market, to the applicable Canadian standards.


The GOST-R mark is a mandatory certification mark for electrical products which are going to be shipped into Russia.

Russia has an official certification called "GOST R Certification System" (GOST refers to State standards; whereas R means Russia). This certification system is administered by the Russian State Committee on Standardization, Metrology, and Certification (Gosstandart).

ULUL MARK      (United States)

The UL Marks are registered certification marks of Underwriters Laboratories Inc. (UL). UL is an independent, not-for-profit, and product safety testing and certification organization.

UL is the United States' original product safety certification organization.